Niger Tornadoes lost the 2017 Aiteo Cup to favourites, Akwa United in a drab final which was decided through the lottery and gamble of penalty. the Promise Keepers emerged as champions of the maiden AITEO Cup after claiming a 3-2 penalty win over Niger Tornadoes in the final played at the Soccer Temple, Agege.

The final failed to provide the excitement and enthusiasm of a cup final, but, however,  Akwa United won and picked up the remaining slot to represent Nigeria in the continent.

It was barren  90 minutes and the game went straight to penalty kicks. Tornadoes had the edge in the first set of kicks, but unfortunately failed to make use of the advantage by scoring their last kick.

Akwa United have won the cup two times in 3 years. They defeated Lobi Stars in 2015 when the Cup was formerly the Federation Cup and  coincidentally won the competition as Aiteo Cup in its maiden year, 2017.


By virtue of the victory, Akwa United will get N25 million while Niger Tornadoes, who eliminated defending champions, FC Ifeanyi Ubah, to make it to the Lagos final will get N10 million.