Ahead of the 2018 World Cup Qualifier against Algeria and the friendly with Argentina, Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has invited 24 players to camp, including victorious 2013 U-17 World Cup duo of Chidiebere Nwakali and Francis Uzoho. Other significant invitees are Henry Onyekeru who gets a re-call and Kenneth Omeruo on stand by.

The Super Eagles will open camping in Morocco on the 6th of November after which they will head to Algeria for the dead-rubber game against Algeria and then proceed to Russia where they will take on Argentina in a glamorous friendly.

Francis Uzoho who plays for Spanish La Liga outfit, Deportivo La Coruna

has enjoyed some positive reviews since he recorded an impressive clean sheet in his debut in the Spanish top division which undoubtedly earned him his first call for the Nigeria Senior team. Midfielder Chidiebere Nwakali also gets his first invite in the Super Eagles set-up. He plays for Norwegian side, Sogndal Fotball, on loan from Manchester City.


All invited players are expected to arrive in a camp in Morocco on Monday, 6th November, before the delegation flies to Constantine on Thursday, 9th November.


On Saturday, 11th November, a 45 –seater chartered aircraft will fly the Super Eagles from Constantine to Krasnodar, the Russian city that will host the international friendly against Argentina on Tuesday, 14th November.




Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain)


Defenders: William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England)


Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidiebere Nwakali (Sogndal FC, Norway)


Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China); Henry Onyekuru (RSC Anderlecht, Belgium); Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)


STANDBY: Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Alhassan Ibrahim (FK Austria Wien, Austria); Brian Idowu (FC Amkar Perm, Russia)